love. its only appropriate.

So this being the week for “love”, I felt it only appropriate to acknowledge it.  I actually forgot this week was Valentine’s Day, but was quickly reminded when I went to the post office to pick up a book and everyone in line was either holding a pink/heart  package, or talking about picking one up. Great reminder, or single-awareness? I’m not really sure.  Nevertheless, me being the observer that I am I have been observing love, in all aspects, in recent days and it has been really cool, and sort of eye-opening. I started thinking about what does it really mean to love unconditionally? to everyone, in every type of relationship. It is almost as if the Lord has been showing me different types of love to better understand that love isn’t just associated with hearts and valentines; its powerful feeling, act, emotion the Lord has not only lavished unselfishly upon us but has called us to give to others unconditionally, as He has shown us, and will continue to, forever. What better example of love is there then in the example of the Lord? So I have been searching. Love is a call on our lives. Its a choice. Not something necessarily that we always want to do, but we must because He first loved us. That is not something that we can wane from. To be able to love like we are supposed to, we must realize and take captive the abundant love the Lord has for us. If we dont own that, if we dont capture that , if we don’t walk daily in that then how are supposed to love people? We have no base. “And may the Lord make your love for one another and for ALL people grow and overflow, just as our love for you overflows.” (1 Thessalonians 3:12) Loving unconditionally is out of the overflow of what has been shown to us, and we can’t love if we haven’t been filled.

So I have been picking apart 1 Corinthians 13:4-7, “Love is PATIENT, and KIND. Love in not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and keeps no record of being wronged. it does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love NEVER gives up, never loses faith, is ALWAYS hopeful, and ENDURES through every circumstance.” I have been asking myself…what qualites in this verse have I or have not been showing to people? Do I really walk this love out everyday? I want to. The Lord makes no mistakes by making it the first commandment, so it’s definitely something that needs to be in the forefront of my mind every day,all the time. I need to constantly be making the choice out of the overflow of my heart to love someone, regardless of the circumstance. I need to feel love, and act love.

So I will celebrate love this week and every week for that matter, and acknowledge the fact that we are here to love. We are the body of Christ and without loving each other, and thus helping each other out, we are not exhibiting what the Lord has intended for us to be individually and together, united in the person who is LOVE. So I will continue to watch love happen this week, and if it has to be a silly holiday or what not to make it more apparent I will enjoy that, because love is what it’s all about.

“Be on guard. Stand firm in faith. Be courageous. Be strong. And do everything with LOVE.” – 1 Corinthians 16:13

-Taylor

~ by Taylor on February 10, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
